Monday, March 30, 2009

Monroe County Bans Smoking in Cars

Last Friday (3/27), the Monroe County Commissioners banned smoking in cars with kids younger than 14 years old. If someone is caught smoking with a child they will face a $100 fine. This ban only covers the unincorporated areas of the county, or 39% of the county's population. The county health board does plan on working with the incorporated areas of the county to pass similar laws.

This law will be enforced in correlation to another violation and not on its own. So if you are in Monroe and are speeding and smoking with a child you will get two fines, but you would not get pulled over just for smoking.

Monroe County now joins many other municipalities and states that have banned smoking in cars including California, Maine, Virginia and North Dakota along with others.

No comments: